The Favourite wins big at London Critics' Circle Film Awards

The other big winner was Roma, which won Film of the Year and Director of the Year for Alfonso Cuaron.

The Favourite was the big winner at the London Critics' Circle Film Awards on Sunday night (20Jan19), scooping four prizes.

Yorgos Lanthimos' period comedy-drama, about two cousins vying to become Queen Anne's favourite, had been the one to beat going into the ceremony, as it had received 10 nominations in January (19). And it managed to take home four wins on Sunday night at London's May Fair Hotel.

It was named Best British/Irish Film of the Year, while Olivia Colman won Actress of the Year for her turn as Queen Anne, Rachel Weisz won a supporting mention for her role as Lady Sarah Churchill, and Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara won for their screenplay.

The other big winner of the night was Mexican film Roma, which took home the big prize of Film of the Year, while Alfonso Cuaron was named Director of the Year.

Ethan Hawke took home the prize for Actor of the Year for First Reformed, Richard E. Grant achieved recognition for his supporting role in Can You Ever Forgive Me?, while Jessie Buckley and Rupert Everett won in the British/Irish actress and actor categories, for their roles in Beast and The Happy Prince, respectively.

Spanish filmmaker Pedro Almodovar was honoured with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film, and was presented the prize by British actress Tamsin Greig, who starred in the West End adaptation of his classic film Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown.

The main list of winners is as follows -

Film of the Year: Roma

British/Irish Film of the Year: The Favourite

Actress of the Year: Olivia Colman - The Favourite

Actor of the Year: Ethan Hawke - First Reformed

Supporting Actress of the Year: Rachel Weisz - The Favourite

Supporting Actor of the Year: Richard E. Grant - Can You Ever Forgive Me?

British/Irish Actress of the Year: Jessie Buckley - Beast

British/Irish Actor of the Year: Rupert Everett - The Happy Prince

Director of the Year: Alfonso Cuaron - Roma

Screenwriter of the Year: Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara - The Favourite

Foreign-Language Film of the Year: Cold War

Documentary of the Year: Faces Places

The Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film: Pedro Almodovar

© Cover Media

Tell us what you think...

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 13 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.